Secondary Sources, Context, and Background
Brosnan , K. A., ed. 2011. Encyclopedia of American environmental history. 4 v. NY: Facts on File.
Davis, R. C., ed. 1983. Encyclopedia of American Forest and Conservation History. 2 v. NY: Macmillan.
--Appendices: National Forests of the U.S., National Parks of the U.S. (both with date established, brief historical data, acreage, citation of legislation), Chronology of Cited Federal Legislation, Chronology of Administrations (names/dates of service of members of relevant government departments), Atlas (maps illustrating aspects of forestry and land use). Subject index.
Chronology of Major Developments in the History of Fish and Wildlife Management. Appendix A, pp. 169-183, in Managing American wildlife : a history of the International Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies, by D. O. Belanger. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 1988, 247 p.
Chronology of Selected Events in the Development of the American Conservation Movement, c.1850-1920 In: The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920. [Library of Congress American Memory].
Goulty, G. A. 1991. A dictionary of landscape: A dictionary of terms used in the description of the world's land surface. Aldershot: Avebury Technical, 309 pp.
Grossman, M. 1994. The ABC-CLIO Companion to the Environmental Movement. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 445 pp.
Magoc, C. J. 2011. Chronology of Americans and the environment. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 190 p.
Papadakis, E. 1998. Historical Dictionary of the Green Movement. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 223 pp.
Sackman, D. C. 2010. A companion to American environmental history. Chichester, West Sussex; Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2010, 670 p.
Wells, E. R. and A. M. Schwartz. 1997. Historical Dictionary of North American Environmentalism. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 226 pp.
Paragraph to 2 pp. articles about persons, institutions, laws, events, and other topics. Chronology (pp. xi-xxi), 1626-1996. Bibliography
Axelrod, A. & C. Phillips. 1993. The Environmentalists: A Biographical Dictionary from the 17th Century to the Present. NY: Facts on File, 258 pp.
Lucas, E. 1994. Naturalists, Conservationists, and Environmentalists. NY: Facts on File, 150 pp. Not at Harvard
Scheuering, R. W. 2004. Shapers of the great debate on conservation: a biographical dictionary. Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 312 p.
Becher, A. 2000. American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present. 2 v. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
2-3 pp. articles with brief bibliographies.
Breton, M. J. 1998. Women Pioneers for the Environment. Boston, MA: Northeastern University Press, 322 pp.
42 biographical sketches, living and deceased.
Burgess, R. L. 1996. American ecologists: A biographical bibliography. Huntia, v. 10, pp. 5-116.
Elder, J., ed. 1996. American Nature Writers. 2 v. NY: Charles Scribner's Sons.
10-15 page articles on 70 American authors, 1700s to present, many living. Bibliographies of primary and secondary sources and locations for manuscripts.
Mongillo, J. and B. Booth, eds. 2001. Environmental Activists. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 356 pp.
Biographical sketches, with bibliographies and many portraits, of about 84 living and deceased largely 20th century environmentalists.
Patterson, D., R. Thompson and J. S. Bryson, eds. 2007. Early American nature writers: a biographical encyclopedia. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 433 pp.
Sterling, K. B. et al., eds. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 937 pp.
Stroud, R. H., ed. 1985. National Leaders of American Conservation. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution Press, 432 pp.
Brief biographical sketches of living and deceased conservationists. 2nd ed. of Leaders of American Conservation, ed. by H. Clepper, 1971.
Antarctic bibliography, 1951- .
LOCATION: Cabot Science: GOVT LC33.9:
LOCATION: Documents (Lamont): LC 33.9:
LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology: Ref G845.A55 x, (1951-61)
Cold regions bibliography (1950s- ) includes Arctic/Antarctic/alpine science and technology. Covers journal articles, monographs, technical reports, and conference proceedings.
Environment abstracts [computer file].
LOCATION: Cabot Science: REFERENCE
LOCATION: Loeb Design: Ref CD-ROM
Environment abstracts, 1975-
Energy information abstracts, 1976-1993
Acid rain abstracts, 1984-1990.
Environment information access, 1971-73.
LOCATION: Loeb Design: Refwhich is indexed in:
Location: Gutman Education Z5322.E2 E57 (1971-73)
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (1974- ) offers worldwide coverage of meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, etc. Includes journal articles, conference papers, books, reports.
Pollution abstracts (1970- ). Online version coverage starts in 1981.
LOCATION: Loeb Design: Per
LOCATION: McKay Applied Sci: INDEXES TD172.P65
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository S 7501.55 (1970-92)
Water Resources Abstracts, 1967- .