Microfilm

For microfilm sources for general history see Library Research Guide for History.

Harvard does not possess a copy of the Landmarks of Science collection. The Boston Public Library (Microfilm Dept.) has one. To see if a specified work is included in Landmarks of Science, go to WorldCat. Choose Advanced Search, enter your author or title, and add "Landmarks of Science" as a Keyword search. You may set Subtype Limits from Any Format to Microform.

The following is a very incomplete list of microform resources for the history of science, medicine and technology in the Harvard University Library

General Science

Bache family. Bache papers--Castle collection, [1683-ca. 1900].
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 766 9 microfilm reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 766 = Guide

Boyle, Robert. Letters and papers of Robert Boyle, [ca. 1640-1691], from the archives of the Royal Society. 16 microfilm reels. (Collections from the Royal Society)
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 741
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 741 = Guide

The Books and manuscripts of John Dee, 1527-1608.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 850.1 Library has: pt. 1-2 on 41 microfilm reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 850.1 =Guide Library has: pt.1-2

Clark Hull papers, 1902-1951 manuscript group number 294, Yale University Library. New Haven, Ct., USA: Yale University Library, 1980.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 513 Library has: 9 microfilm reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 513 = guide

Mather, Cotton. Cotton Mather papers, [1681-1722]. 19 microfilm reels. Reels numbered: 1-2, 3-A-D, 4-A-C, 5-14.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 897
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 897 = guide

Newton, Isaac, Sir. Manuscripts and papers [ca. 1660-ca. 1727]. 43 microfilm reels.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 764
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 764 = Guide

Royal Society (Great Britain) . The early letters and classified papers, 1660 -1740 from the Archives of the Royal Society. 23 microfilm reels.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 589.2
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 589.2 = Guide

Royal Society (Great Britain). From the archives of the Royal Society, 1660 -[1951]. 31 microfilm reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 589
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 589 = Guide

United States. President's Science Advisory Committee. The papers of the President's Science Advisory Committee, 1957-1961. 3 microfilm reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Harvard Depository Film M 450
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film M 450 = Guide

Astronomy

Bennett, J. A. (James A.). Catalogue of the archives and manuscripts of the Royal Astronomical Society. (Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society; v. 85)..
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 289

Guide to the microfilm edition of the George Ellery Hale papers, 1882-1937: at the Mount Wilson and Palomar Observatories Library, Pasadena, California. [Washington, D.C.]: Carnegie Institution of Washington; [Pasadena, Calif.]: California Institute of Technology, 1968.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 332

Herschel, John F. W. (John Frederick William), Sir. Letters and papers of Sir John Herschel, [1820-1870] from the Archives of the Royal Society. 28 microfilm reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 729
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 729 = Guide

Hubble, Edwin Powell. Correspondence, 1910-1959. (Sources for history of modern astrophysics ; 6). 1 microfilm reel. Copying of text only by permission of Huntington Library, San Marino, Calif. Microfilm.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 554.6
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 554.6 = guide

Introduction and index to the Early correspondence of the Lowell Observatory, 1894-1916: microfilm edition. Flagstaff, AR: The Lowell Observatory, 1973.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 280

Russell Henry Norris Russell papers. Sources for history of modern astrophysics; [9]. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Library; New York, N.Y.: Microfilmed for the American Institute of Physics, Center for History of Physics, [198-?].
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 554.9
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 554.9 = guide

Shapley Harlow Shapley papers [198-]: [guide to microfilm collection]. (Sources for history of modern astrophysics ; 11).
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 554.11

Struve, Otto. Struve papers, [1931-1947].
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 554.12 Permission to duplicate, quote, or cite needed. Microfilm. New York, N.Y. : Microfilmed for the American Institute of Physics, Center for History of Physics, [198-]. (Sources for history of modern astrophysics ; [12]) Microfilm
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 554.12 = Guide

Swings, P. (Polydore). Swings--Struve correspondence, [1932-1962].
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 554.13 Microfilm. New York, N.Y. : Microfilmed for the American Institute of Physics, Center for History of Physics, [198-]. 3 microfilm reels ; 4 in., 35 mm. (Sources for history of modern astrophysics ; [13]) Microfilm Library has: 3 microfilm reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 554.13 = Guide

Physics

Archives for the history of quantum physics, pt. 2: Oral history interview transcripts, [196-]. Access restricted; apply at Microforms Reference Desk. Microfilm. [Philadelphia : Joint Committee of the American Physical Society and the American Philosophical Society on the History of Theoretical Physics, 1987]. 5 microfilm reels. (AHQP/OHI 1-5).
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 603.2
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 603.2 = Guide

The Papers of Sir Edwin Chadwick, 1800-1890. Brighton, Sussex, England: Harvester Press Microform Publications, 1983-1986.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 466 Library has: 2 pts. on 37 reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 466 Library has: 2 v.

The papers of Sir Edwin Chadwick (1800 -1890): a handlist. Occasional publications / Library of University College, London, no. 3. 2nd ed. London: The Library of University College London, 1983.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 466.1
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC Z 921.L66 L662 x no. 3

Chandler, Seth Carlo. Seth Chandler papers, 1858-1922. (Sources for history of modern astrophysics ; 2). 1 microfilm reel.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 554.2
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 554.2 = Guide

Wheaton, Bruce R. Catalogue of the Paul Ehrenfest Archive at the Museum Boerhaave, Leiden. Communication ... of the National Museum for the History of Science and Medicine "Museum Boerhaave"; 151. Leiden: Museum Boerhaave, 1977.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 603.17
LOCATION: Widener: S 828.49 vol.151

Ehrenfest, Paul. Notebooks, [1902?-1933?].
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 603.17 Access restricted; apply at Microforms Reference Desk. Microfilm. [Philadelphia : Joint Committee of the American Physical Society and the American Philosophical Society on the History of Theoretical Physics, 1987]. 16 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. (Archives for the history of quantum physics ; [pt. 17]. -- (AHQP/EHR 1-16). Microfilm Consult Microforms Reference Desk for this item. Library has: 16 microfilm reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 603.17 = Guide

Ehrenfest, Paul. Personal correspondence, [1900?-1933].
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 603.18 Access restricted; apply at Microforms Reference Desk. Microfilm. [Philadelphia : Joint Committee of the American Physical Society and the American Philosophical Society on the History of Theoretical Physics, 1987]. 5 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. (Archives for the history of quantum physics ; [pt. 18]. -- (AHQP/EHR 27-31). Microfilm Consult Microforms Reference Desk for this item. Library has: 5 microfilm reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 603.17 =Guide

Ehrenfest, Paul. Scientific correspondence, 1903-1933.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 603.20 Access restricted; apply at Microforms Reference Desk. Microfilm. [Philadelphia : Joint Committee of the American Physical Society and the American Philosophical Society on the History of Theoretical Physics, 1987]. 10 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. (Archives for the history of quantum physics ; [pt. 20]. -- (AHQP/EHR 17-26). Microfilm Consult Microforms Reference Desk for this item. Library has: 10 microfilm reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 603.17 = Guide

Millikan, Robert Andrews. The Robert Andrews Millikan collection at the California Institute of Technology. [Pasadena, Ca.]: California Institute of Technology, c1977.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 538 = Guide
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 538 Library has: 81 microfilm reels

Rutherford Badash, Lawrence. Rutherford correspondence catalog. National catalog of sources for history of physics; report no. 3. New York: Center for History of Physics, American Institute of Physics, c1974.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 603.50
LOCATION: Widener: Phys 5.15 vol. 3

Sources for History of Quantum Physics. Sources for history of quantum physics; an inventory and report. Memoirs of the American Philosophical Society, v. 68. Philadelphia, American Philosophical Society, 1967.
LOCATION: Cabot Science: REF QC174.1.S66
LOCATION: History of Science:
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 603
LOCATION: Physics Research: REF QC174.1.S72
LOCATION: Physics Research: Reserve QC174.1.S72
LOCATION: Widener: Phys 399.67.35
LOCATION: Wolbach Obs (HCO): QC174.1.S66

Young, Charles Augustus. Charles A. Young papers 1850-1908. 3 microfilm reels. Permission needed to quote or reproduce.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 554.14
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 554.14 = Guide

Geology/Cartography

Ordnance survey memoirs, c. 1833-[18]37. 17 microfilm reels.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 717
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 717 = Guide

Environment

Bessey Guide and index to the microfilm edition of the Charles E. Bessey papers (1865 -1915). University of Nebraska studies, new ser., no. 67. Lincoln: University of Nebraska, 1984.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 556
LOCATION: Widener: Harvard Depository QK31.B516 Z993 1984x

Bessey, Charles E. (Charles Edwin). Charles Edwin Bessey papers, 1865-1915. 37 microfilm reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 556
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 556 = guide

Clare, John. John Clare manuscripts from Northampton Central Library, [1814- ca. 1902]. 11 microfilm reels.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 682
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 682 = Guide

Clare, John. The John Clare collection in Peterborough Museum and Art Gallery, [ca. 1820-ca. 1941]. 10 microfilm reels.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 683
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A683 = Guide

Muir, John. The John Muir papers, [1858-1957]. 51 microfilm reels and 53 microfiches.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 944 = microfilm.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Microfiche W 5351 = microfiche
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 944 = printed guide

Index to the Theodore Roosevelt papers.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A88 Library has: 3 v. Library has: 3 v.
LOCATION: Widener: Roosevelt 100.R67i Library has: 3 v.
LOCATION: Widener: Roosevelt R100.R67i Library has: 3 v.

Thoreau, Henry David. Thoreau Walden and other manuscripts of Henry David Thoreau (1817-1862) from the Huntington Library. Marlborough,
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film W 23935 Library has: 5 microfilm reels.

Life Sciences

Darwin, Huxley and the natural sciences. 183 microfilm reels.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1379
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1379 = printed guides

Human Sciences

Bureau of Social Hygiene project and research files [1918-1940]: a collection of the Rockefeller Archive Center of Rockefeller University.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 310 Microfilm

Sex & Sexuality, 1640-1940: Literary, Medical and Sociological Perspectives
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 1056 Library has: pt. 1 on 15 microfilm reels.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 1056 = guide

Part 1: Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford and the Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine, London.

A Listing and Guide to Part 1 of the Microfilm Collection

Women and Victorian values, c1837-1910: advice books, manuals and journals for women.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 959
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 959 = guide

Women's studies manuscript collections from the Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe College. Series 3, Sexuality, sex education, and reproductive rights. 1994.
LOCATION: Schlesinger: M-138 Microfilm Printed reel guides shelved with inventories in Ref. Additional copy in 2nd fl. manuscripts dept.

Medicine

Barton, Clara. Papers, 1834-1918.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 892 Microfilm. Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1986. 123 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. Library has: 123 microfilm reels.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 892 = guide

Black death, sources concerning the European plague. Series one, Rare printed sources from the Herzog August Bibliothek, Wolfenbüttel, c1470-1822
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1270

National Association of Colored Graduate Nurses. National Association of Colored Graduate Nurses records, 1908-1951.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Harvard Depository Film M 542 Microfilm. (The Schomburg Center collections).
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 866 = guide

Nightingale, public health and Victorian Society: from the British Library, London.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1224
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont) On order

Scientific & medical manuscripts from the Yale Medical Historical Library, [ca. 1200-ca. 1600].
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 714 8 microfilm reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 714 = Guide

Women and/in health. Berkeley, CA: Women's History Research Center, 1974.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 169 Library has: 13 reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 169 Guide

Sections:

  • 1. Physical and mental health of women
  • 2. Physical and mental illnesses of women
  • 3. Biology, women, and the life cycle
  • 4. Birth control and population control
  • 5. Sex and sexuality
  • 6. Black and the Third World women and health
  • 7. Special issues of mass periodicals
Microfilmed newspaper and magazine articles from the clippings file of the Women's History Research Center, Berkeley. For each section there is a chronological sequence: 1968-1973, undated material, then 1974.

Women and medicine: remedy books, 1533-1865: from the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine, London / general editor, Sara Pennell.
LOCATION : Microforms (Lamont) Film A 1316 (35 microfilm reels + guide)

Contains over 260 manuscript receipt books containting remedies plus some cookery and other recipes. Guide with contents list.

 

Technology

Boulton Industrial revolution, a documentary history. Series One, The Boulton and Watt archive and the Matthew Boulton papers from the Birmingham Central Library.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 848.1 Library has: pt. 1 on 16 microfilm reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 848.1 =Guide Library has: pt. 1

Thomas A. Edison papers a selective microfilm edition.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 515 Library has: pt. 1-3 on 162 microfilm reels Library currently subscribes to this title.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 515 Library has: = Guide Library has: pt. 1-3

Great Northern Railway Company (U.S.). Great Northern Railway Co. papers. Part 1, 1862-1922. 3 ser. on 25 microfilm reels.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 863
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 863 = Guide

Mackenzie Valley Pipeline Inquiry (Canada). Mackenzie Valley Pipeline Inquiry. 28 microfilm reels.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 473
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 473 = guide

Manhattan Project A guide to Manhattan Project: official history and documents.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 245
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 245 Microfilm Library has: 12 reels

Northern Pacific Railway Company. Northern Pacific Railway Company papers. Part 1, 1864-1922. 3 ser. on 25 microfilm reels
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film A 865
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film A 865 = Guide

Nuclear disarmament after the Cold War. . (Archives of the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament, 1989-1994 (Great Britain)).
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont) Film A 911

United States. Office of Scientific Research and Development. Bush-Conant file relating to the development of the atomic bomb, 1940-1945 Records of the Office of Scientific Research and Development, Record Group 227.
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): Film S 1040 (M 1392)
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont): INDEX Film S 1040 (M 1392) = Guide