CollectedNewsletter

June  2017  Finding Digital Collections

Jan 2017 Sources on Radicalism; Country codes

Aug 2016 Background and Orientation of Periodicals

June 2016 Ancestry: Resources for History

Jan 2016 Historical Country Information/Current Events Summaries

Aug 2015 Some Image Sources

June 2015 - New Online State Dept./Consular Records

Jan 2015 -cAdvice Literature

Aug 2014 - Digital & Multimedia History Groups

June 2014 - Women's Magazines  --  Annotation Studio

January 2014 - Missionary Collections

August 2013 - Baker Library Historical Collections

June 2013 - Declassified Documents

Dec 2012 - Country Information

Aug 2012 ok

Research Guides

Zotero: A How-To Guide

Popular autobiographical writing. Pp. 253-350 in: The flight of Icarus: artisan autobiography in early modern Europe, by James S. Amelang. Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 1998, 497 p.
Widener: WID-LC CT25 .A49 1998
Includes for each author: brief biographical information, editions, mss location, secondary sources. New World as well as Europe. Authors born before 1772 with texts starting before 1800.

Africa and the African Diaspora: Music Research Guide

Canadian Official Publications is a Harvard College Library research guide.

Resources for Asian History

Harvard in the 17th and 18th Centuries is a research guide to diaries, commonplace books, correspondence, legal documents, University records, drawings, maps, student notebooks, scientific observations, and lecture notes. Material is grouped by Subject (e.g., food) and by Genre (e.g., student letters).

Non-Harvard

Doctor or Doctress? Explore American history through the eyes of women physicians.

Photogrammar offers 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the US Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI).

Western European Theater Political Pamphlet Collection 1894-1918 (Princeton University Library). Topics include the economy, the press, the military, arms, territorial disputes, and others. The collection also includes speeches, sermons, bulletins, calendars, and songbooks. Material in English, German, French, Italian, Russian, and other languages.

HS

Alfred Russel Wallace Correspondence Project.  More information.  

London's Pulse: Medical Officer of Health reports (1848-1972) offers over 5500 annual reports for London.  They contain personal accounts by the Medical Officers and statistical data covering birth rates, causes of death, housing, food hygiene, health services, local trades and industries, and many other topics.

 Nationally Notifiable Disease Surveillance System (NNDSS) weekly reports for the United States (1888-2013) have been digitized.

RSC Gold (1876- ) offers Royal Society of Chemistry Journals

HUL Collections

Latino Comics Collection (1993-2012). 
Description :  approximately 100 items ; 
Summary :  A selection of some of the country’s best comics illustrated, written, inked and published by Latinos in the US.  Also includes two DVDs, several posters and other ephemera. Some of the artists represented in the collection include: Jaime Crespo, José Cabrera, Rafael Navarro, Brian Anderson, Javier Hernández and many others.
HOLLIS Record

Elsewhere

Cambridge Archives Project offers information on Cambridge archives and lists of collections in Cambridge archives arranged by topic and by Library of Congress subject term.

Collections of Distinction represent a selection of the Boston Public Library’s collections.

E-Resources

General

Peabody Museum Collections Online provides access to approximately 600,000 database records and over 300,000 associated digital photographs.

PolicyMap is a web-based Geographic Information System. It captures data through custom demographic maps, tables, reports and an analysis tool called Analytics. PolicyMap's GIS mapping services can incorporate your own data and leverage it against the thousands of indicators already available. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates. Available data: 2000-2012.

United Nations War Crimes Commission documents over 2,200 cases against accused World War II criminals in Europe and Asia.
Via International Criminal Court
Via UN
News story

lyndaCampus, an online computer training resource, is a library of over 2000 instructional videos on topics including: Microsoft, Adobe, iPhones & iPads, business skills, web design, programming, audio, video, and more, including web tools like Dropbox, Twitter, and Skype.

Digital Archive: International History Declassified, a Wilson Center Digital Archive, includes a large number of once-secret documents relating to the Cold War, North Korea, and nuclear proliferation, with a variety of contextualization and mapping features.

Gallup Analytics includes poll data:
--U.S. daily since 2008
--World Poll Data collected annually since 2005 in 160+ countries
--Gallup Brain - historical Gallup trends on thousands of topics, US and worldwide dating back to the 1930s.

Additions to:
Slavery and Antislavery: A Transnational Archive:

Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World charts the inception of slavery in Africa and its rise throughout the Atlantic world, with particular focus on the UK, France, and the US. Includes monographs, individual papers, company records, newspapers, and government documents.

Part III: Institution of Slavery (1492-1888) includes legal documents, plantation records, first-person accounts, newspapers, government records and other sources. Includes material on slavery as a legal and labor system; the relationship between slavery and religion; freed slaves; the Shong Massacre; the Dememara insurrection; and many others.

Part IV: Age of Emancipation includes documents related to emancipation in the US, Latin America, the Caribbean, and other parts of the world.

The AHA's online Directory of History Dissertations (1873- ) has been expanded to over 49,000 US and Canadian doctorates.  There are also about 4,000 in progress dissertations included.

CAB Abstracts Archive (1910- ) indexes research and development literature in agriculture, forestry, public health, human and animal nutrition, animal health, natural resource management and conservation. Scope is global with emphasis on Africa and Latin America.

Dioptrice: pre-1775 refracting telescopes contains information on surviving telescopes as well as depictions in early books, manuscripts, and art works.

Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing Archive [PEP]

Historical Garden Design Online (16th-19th centuries) is a collection of 178 titles covering the theory and practice of gardening, horticulture and garden design.

Digitalia Film Library offers streaming video of films and documentaries from Latin America, Europe and North America. Special collections feature Argentine, French, and North American classic cinema.

Making of the Modern World Part 2 takes The Making of Modern World series into the early 20th century. Comprised mainly of monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys.

Very Short Introductions Online offers several hundred brief (approx..100 pp.) introductions to a wide variety of subjects. Oxford University Press series, also available in print.

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Human Evolution

Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Neo-Latin World

The Programming Historian offers peer reviewed tutorials that help humanists (though slanted towards historians) learn a wide range of digital tools, techniques, and workflows to facilitate their research. Despite the name, it does not focus exclusively on programming, but rather aims to provide guidance on a variety of digital methods and approaches.

Connected Researchers. This science-oriented blog offers updates on new services, provides reviews and a comprehensive list of web-based tools for researchers.

 DIRT Directory aggregates information about digital research tools for scholarly use.

We now have access to over 22,250 Project Muse eBooks.  Arranged by subject.  The books have HOLLIS records and are full test searchable at Project Muse.  Limit to eBooks under Content Type. 

Communication Abstracts (1960s- (a few earlier) worldwide coverage of communications literature (journalism, mass media, social media, advertising, political rhetoric, sociology and history of communication)

Design and Applied Arts Index (1973- )  contains abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals.  Includes ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.

Enciclopedia delle donne is a biographical encyclopedia of women, worldwide but with Italian emphasis.

International Historical Statistics

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection includes:
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) (1987 - current)
ERIC (1966 - current)
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (1951 - current)
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (1973 - current)
PAIS International (1914 - current)
PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (1871 - current)
ProQuest Criminal Justice (1981 - current)
ProQuest Education Journals (1988 - current)
ProQuest Political Science (1985 - current)
ProQuest Social Science Journals
ProQuest Sociology (1985 - current)
Social Services Abstracts (1979 - current)
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - current)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - current)

SimplyMap is a digital mapping tool.

Slavery & Anti-Slavery 2: Slave Trade Atlantic World
Slavery & Anti-Slavery 3: Institution of Slavery
Slavery & Anti-Slavery 4: Age of Emancipation
--Not as yet listed in HOLLIS or E-Resources.  You can use it by going to any Gale database and opening Change Databases (at the top of the screen).

Flickr Commons offers thousands of historical photographs contributed by institutions, including NARA, Library of Congress and many foreign libraries and archives.

HOLLIS now includes records for most films in the Harvard Film Archive.

Open Vault (WGBH Media Library and Archives) (1947- ) provides catalog and online access to over a million items (video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools) produced by public television and radio station WGBH. Much is available online; other material must be used onsite.

Book History Online (1970) is the online continuation of the Annual Bibliography of the History of the Printed Book and Libraries (ABHB), first published in 1970. Formerly a free database, it is now available through Harvard Library E-Resources.

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts: ASSIA (largely 1987- ; but some back to 1870) covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education literature from over 16 countries. A search on “hygiene” for 1870-1950 yields 175 citations.

Cambridge companions online

Nineteenth Century Periodicals Pathfinder lists digitized periodicals by time period, country and subject from a variety of sources including JSTOR and HathiTrust.

Réseau francophone numérique contains digitized historical material from French-speaking countries worldwide.

United Nations History Project

Translated Texts for Historians E-Library provides online access to the Liverpool University Press series.

Canadiana Discovery Portal searches digital collections of Canadian libraries, archives and museums

Archives Unbound: Global Missions and Theology includes personal narratives, organizational records and biographies of leaders, missionaries and churches. Includes materials on American domestic and foreign missionary activities, 1800-1899. More information.

Biographisch-bibliographisches Kirchenlexikon

Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR)

World Religion Database (WRD) contains country by country statistics on religious affiliation. Estimates for 1900 to 2050.

Archives Unbound: Witchcraft in Europe and America includes 16th-18th century printed and manuscript material drawn from the Cornell University collection.

British Records of the Atlantic World, 1700-1900 contains archival records largely of slave and other trade, estates, and missionary activity in the Americas, especially West Indies, and West Africa

Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership provides Early English Books Online works as fully searchable, with Boolean and proximity searches, texts of over 25,000 of the 125,000 EEBO works. These works accessed through EEBO are page images and OCR and so not fully searchable.

Education Index Retrospective 1929-1983 indexes about 500 English-language periodicals and yearbooks. Includes book reviews.

International directory of company histories provides information on the development of the world's 8,500 largest and most influential companies.

International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest

Oxford Bibliographies Online is a series of selective literature guides in subjects in the humanities and social sciences.

Slavery and Anti-slavery: A Transnational Archive. Part 1: Debates over Slavery and Abolition.  More information.

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels (1965-2005) contains 75,000 pages of North American and European comics and graphics novels, as well as interviews, commentary and criticism.

Universal Short Title Catalogue (USTC) is a collective catalog of all books published in Europe and the Americas between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century.

World History in Video. Over 1,750 documentaries, covering prehistory - fall of the Berlin Wall.

World Newspaper Archive includes: African Newspapers, 1800-1922; Latin American Newspapers, 1805-1922; South Asian Newspapers, 1864-1922

​Film Platform offers numerous documentary films on a wide variety of subjects.  There are collections on several topics. Searches can be filtered by topic, country of production, and language. 

Classic Sermon Index catalogs over 40,000 English language sermons.

Frontier Life: Borderlands and Colonial Encounters includes archival documents, maps, and photographs from several archives pertaining to the lives and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920. Geographic scope includes North America as well as Southern Africa, Australia and New Zealand.

Lexikon des gesamten Buchwesens Online  covers a broad range of topics related to the history of the book. Includes persons, institutions, topics pertaining to production, distribution and reception of the book. This online edition contains about 21,000 entries.  Based on the second edition of the LGB.

Oxford bibliographies. Art History, like the other Oxford Bibliographies offers annotated bibliographies of secondary sources.

Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Nationalism

ARTstor is a major resource for photojournalism.  They have recently added 35,000 additional images from Magnum Photos

Oxford encyclopedia of the bible and law

HeinOnline Religion and the Law

Women and Social Movements, Modern Empires Since 1820 iincludes personal writings by women related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.

General

ACI Scholarly Blog Index

Free Mapping Online is a mapping tool from the China Data Center of the University of Michigan

NBC Learn: Higher Ed  has digitized stories from the NBC News archives, dating back to the 1920s. Updated daily. Includes NBC Nightly News, the TODAY show, Meet the Press, Dateline NBC, as well as the networks of MSNBC, CNBC, and Telemundo.

United States

African American National Biography in Oxford American Studies Center

American Book Prices Current

American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 offers 20th century records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. Includes other primary source collections from the U.S. National Archives and the Chicago History Museum that focus on the 19th Century.

American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996  covers foreign reactions to American race relations from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movements and beyond.

Black Studies Center offers a cross search of:

  • Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (essays, reference materials)
  • International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text
  • The Marshall Index (print version: A Guide to Negro periodical literature  (HOLLIS Record)
  • Chicago Defender
  • Black Literature Index offers author/title indexing for a collection of over 86,000 full text literary works (1827-1940) on microfiche, including fiction, poetry, book reviews and other literary forms by African-Americans and Whites writing in African-American periodicals and newspapers. HOLLIS record for microfiche.

Dave Leip U.S. House General County Election Results (1992, 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008, 2012)

Harvard Art Museums The Social Museum Collection offers Progressive-Era photographs and graphic illustrations surviving from the Social Museum of Harvard University. Focus is on social reform organizations and institutions in the United States and western Europe, but countries such as Japan, New Zealand, and the Philippines are also represented.

HistoryMakers is an African American oral video history archive

National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS)

Sanborn Maps Geo Edition (1867-1970) offers sophisticated search capabilities for selected Sanborn maps, but is much less comprehensive than Digital Sanborn maps 1867-1970.

Making of Modern Law: ACLU Papers, 1912-1990

Music Magazine Archive

ProQuest Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789-present

Rock's Backpages (1950s- ) includes articles, interviews, and reviews from music writers, journalists, and critics, from Billboard, Cashbox, Rolling Stone, Melody Maker, and many smaller local publications (city papers).

Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century

Dave Leip's atlas of the U.S. presidential elections, 1948-2016

Franz Boas Papers, 1862-1942 offers personal papers of the American anthropologist

HeinOnline Tax Foundation Archive Publications

Law & Society since the Civil War consists of 11 collections from the Harvard Law School Library including the personal papers of Supreme Court justices (Oliver Wendell Holmes, Louis D. Brandeis, Felix Frankfurter) , federal judges, Law School professor and others together with the Sacco-Vanzetti case papers.

ProQuest Congressional has a search for government social media postings

Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915 Plantation Records

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database   includes records from over 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866.

American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922​ contains over 3,500 works -- books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera -- pertaining to transatlantic slavery, movements for its abolition, and memories of slavery published after the Civil War. Materials are drawn from American Antiquarian Society, and derive from different regions of the United States as well as some imprints from the Caribbean region and Europe.

Occupy History website is back after a Spring malware attack. Some of the graphic material was lost, but all the bibliographies, articles and links were saved.

Propaganda Poster Digital Collection (Washington State University) includes 520 World War I and World War II posters.

China, America and the Pacific: Trade and Cultural ExchangeDescription.

Joseph Story Digital Suite. Story (1779-1845) was a Supreme Court Justice and Harvard Law School professor.

A History of Social Welfare Digital Collection (Cornell University Library) includes manuscripts, early journals, narratives, reports, letters, photographs, prints, etc., documenting the history of social welfare in the US.  Emphasizes social welfare services in New York and social welfare provisions by and for African Americans.

Franz Boas Papers. Digitization of the papers of the American anthropologist Franz Boas (1858–1942) in the American Philosophical Society.

China, America, and the Pacific contains archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.

Cold War Intelligence Online: The Secret War Between the U.S. and the USSR, 1945-1991

American Pamphlets, Series 1, 1820-1922 offers pamphlets held at the New York Historical Society

LGBT Thought and Culture hosts books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the 20th century to the present. Includes letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera, memoirs, biographies, and literary works. Currently largely U.S..

Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights (1850-1970). Guide.

First World War: Personal Experiences includes diaries, letters, scrapbooks, photographs and 360° views of personal items and objects. Interactive maps displaying narrative of the war.

Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1994 is a government agency which translates foreign language books, newspapers, journals, unclassified foreign documents and research reports, but largely serials. Emphasis is on communist and third world countries. Over 130,000 reports issued 1957-1994. Early emphasis on scientific and technical material from communist countries has broadened to include more non-scientific materials.

ProQuest History Vault: Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975 includes Collections includes records of: Associated Press, Saigon Bureau; Military Assistance Command Vietnam (MACV); U.S. Armed Forces in Vietnam; Vietnam Documents and Research Notes Series: Translation and Analysis of Viet Cong/North Vietnamese Documents; Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon and Ford National Security Files.

Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest (1950-1975) contains primary sources on popular culture in the US and Great Britain. Topics include: Youth Culture; Student Protests; May ‘68; TV; Music; Movies; Civil Rights; Women’s Liberation; Minority Groups; The Space Race; Consumerism; Credit Cards; Computers; Vietnam War; and Nuclear Disarmament.

Archives Unbound: U.S. and Iraqi Relations: U.S. Technical Aid, 1950-1958 offers records drawn from the U.S. National Archives.

Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1926More information (choose Detailed Overview).

Official Museum Directory

ProQuest Civil War Era (1840-1865) Includes nearly 2,000 pamphlets and complete runs of eight newspapers: Richmond Dispatch, Charleston Mercury, New Orleans Times Picayune, Boston Herald, New York Herald, Columbus State Journal (Ohio), The Kentucky Daily Journal, and Memphis Daily Appeal.

New Harvard Library E-Resources

Latin America

Digitalia Hispanica is an ebook collection.

Latin American History Collection eBooks offers full text of monographs on Latin American history, mostly published in Spain. -

The archives of Cuba =: Los archivos de Cuba  descriptions of the holdings of Cuban archives including smaller less well known collections.

Bibliografía Mesoamericana

Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959- (Part 1)

Asia/Australia

Asia

Banglapedia - the National Encyclopedia of Bangladesh is a comprehensive reference work on Bangladesh from high ancient period to date.

Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902 – 1940) was an English-language newspaper founded (in 1891) by Robert Young, a member of the British expatriate and mercantile community in Kobe. Complements the North-China Herald (1850-1941), available in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers,

Urban History Documentation Archive of the Centre for Studies in Social Sciences, Calcutta (CSSSC) includes:
a) printed literature in the vernaculars relating to social and cultural history, mostly periodicals from Eastern India printed from the inception of printing until the 1950s and in Bengali and Assamese.
b) visual documents, mainly early popular visual forms of productions in Bengal, modern academic art forms and photographs
c) advertisement and commercial art in Bengali from 1800 to –1950.

ABIA Online Index of South and Southeast Asian Art and Archeology

Afghanistan and the US, 1945-1963: Records of US State Department Classified Files

Afghanistan in 1919: The Third Anglo-Afghan War. From the India Office records.

Balochistan Archives includes a catalog of holdings of books, maps,and manuscripts, as well as finding aids to archival collections, together with a digital collection of books, manuscripts, maps, and genealogies concerning Balochistan Province, Pakistan.

European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Colonialism and Nationalism in the Dutch East Indies (1910-1930) offers US State Department documents, including correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, etc., related to U.S. consular activities.

India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department

India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the U.S. State Department, February 1963-1966

The Indian Army and Colonial Warfare on the Frontiers of India, 1914-1920 concerns the area between India and Afghanistan. Includes over 5,000 images and a wide variety of military records and regimental histories. From the British Library

Late Qing Dynasty Periodical Full-text Database (1833-1911) 晚清期刊全文數據庫

Southeast Asia Digital Library

Sukarno and the Army-PKI Rivalry in the Years of Living Dangerously, 1960-1963 includes US Department of State records consisting of memoranda, correspondence, telegrams, memoranda of conversations, reports, and news articles concerning U.S. relations with Indonesia, Indonesian internal affairs, and Indonesia’s foreign relations.

Taiwan Photo Gallery / GIS Database contains 25,000 photos from 1895 to 1945 with geographic data. The database also includes full text of works in history and geography as well as government publications. In Chinese

Bichitra Tagore Online Variorum includes all of Rabindranath Tagore's literary works in Bengali and English, but excludes most letters, speeches, textbooks and translations (except Tagore's translations from his own Bengali).

China, America and the Pacific: Trade and Cultural ExchangeDescription.

China Historical GIS

Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1948

Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism 

China: culture and society (c1750-1929), offers pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia, together with secondary sources.

Early Photography of Japan

India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the U.S. State Department, February 1963-1966

The Indian Army and Colonial Warfare on the Frontiers of India, 1914-1920 concerns the area between India and Afghanistan. Includes over 5,000 images and a wide variety of military records and regimental histories. From the British Library

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, Section II: South Asian Conflicts and Independence for Bangladesh, 1964-71. Sections on additional subjects will be added in the future.

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, Section II (1947-1980) contains the DO 133, DO 134, FO 371 and FCO 37 files from The National Archives, Kew.

SEApapers Provides access to scholarly works produced in and about Southeast Asia.  Focus is on Brunei Darussalam, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Early Experiences in Australasia covers the arrival of the first settlers through Australian Federation.

Nepal Journals Online

Online Burma/Myanmar Library is an index to over 30,000 full texts of individual Burma documents on the Internet. It also houses articles, conference papers, theses, books, reports, archives and directories. Includes the Burma Press Summary archive).

Africa

LLMC Digital has digitized additional legal sources from Africa (1698- ) which are available in LLMC Digital   Open Search Collections and browse by country. More information.

Confidential print. Africa, 1834-1966. Marlborough, UK : Adam Matthew Digital. Confidential prints were informational documents printed by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices and distributed privately to their officials.

Dictionary of African biography (Ed. by Emmanuel K. Akyeampong and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2012. 6 v. (Widener | RR 3970.35.15)) is available online in Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection and the African American Studies Center.

Africa Portal (2003 - ) offers policy-related journal articles, working papers and reports, a directory of scholars and practitioners, a discussion blog, and a calendar of international events.

Africa through a lens (1860s- ) From the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection (CO 1069).

CODESRIA Publications Program (Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa) disseminates research from CODESRIA’s network of research institutions, seminars, and conferences throughout Africa and the diaspora. Books and journals in English, French, Arabic and Portuguese.

CSSR Working Papers (Centre for Social Science Research, University of Cape Town)  often include historical background

Digital Innovation South Africa includes biographies, interviews, reports, conference papers, full-text theses "focusing on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994."

Giza Archives offers resources on the archeology of the Giza pyrimids region.

Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980 offers British National Archives files on the apartheid Governments of South Africa. Includes numerous first-hand accounts and reports.

African Journals Online is a collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.

African Language Materials Archive (ALMA) offers downloadable e-books in pdf format in indigenous African languages with emphasis on West African languages and scripts.

Oral literature in Africa is a revised digital edition of Ruth Finnegan's Oral Literature in Africa. Includes new introduction, additional images and an updated bibliography. Print version:
Widener copy
Tozzer & Lamont copies

Bibliothéque numérique contains a collection of digitized Mauritian rare books, journals, annual reports and government documents.

Studying Africa: a guide to the sources primarily covers the social sciences and mainly 2004-2011. For older references, see the previous edition of Studying Africa (ed. by Kristina Rylander 2005)

Middle East

Brockelmann in English: The History of the Arabic Written Tradition Online

Middle Eastern Film Posters Digitization Initiative includes over 160 posters and 768 lobby cards. Acquired in Lebanon in 2008, they advertise films released 1935-2007.

Iraqi Jewish Archives website offers over 2,700 books and tens of thousands of documents discovered in 2003 in the Iraqi intelligence headquarters by the US Army.

Encyclopaedia Islamica

e-corpus is a digital library that includes manuscripts, archival documents, books, journals, prints, audio recordings, video, etc. presenting cultural diversity worldwide and especially in the Euro-Mediterranean region drawn from the collections of numerous organizations and countries.

Confidential print. Middle East, 1839-1969. Marlborough, UK : Adam Matthew Digital. Confidential prints were informational documents printed by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices and distributed privately to their officials. Includes Egypt.

Middle Eastern Manuscripts Online (MEMO) I: Pioneer Orientalists consists of the Arabic manuscripts of Joseph Justus Scaliger (d. 1609), Franciscus Raphelengius (d. 1597) and Jacobus Golius (d. 1667) from the Leiden University Library. The Golius collection is particularly famous for its manuscripts on Islamic science.

Manumed is a collection of digitized manuscripts from Mediterranean cultures

Christian-Muslim Relations. A Bibliographical History

Kotobarabia E-Library is a collection of over 4,500 Arabic e-books, including all types of publications: banned literature, fiction, non-fiction (scholarly and popular), written by Arab authors. Content is primarily in Arabic with metadata in both Arabic and English and bilingual Arabic/English search interface, including a virtual Arabic keyboard.

Otzar HaHochma Electronic Library provides online access to over 47,000 scanned Judaica books.

Ancient/Medieval

Ancient Ports - Ports Antiques is a list of around 2750 ancient harbours and ports based on 66 ancient and a few modern authors.

Byzantinische Bibliographie is the online version of the bibliography that appears in the Byzantinische Zeitschrift.

DAPHNE: Data in Archaeology, Prehistory and History on the Net is a CNRS portal for free subject-oriented bibliographic databases.

Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts

Geschichtsquellen des deutschen Mittelalters is a repertory of narrative sources from 750 to 1500 with information on manuscript tradition, editions, translations, and research literature. Expanded from the print "Repertorium fontium historiae Medii Aevi".

Analecta Carminum Saecularium Medii Aevi posterioris is a database of Latin love poems and secular poetry of the high and late middle ages.

Bibliothecae codicum medii aevi is a database of mediaeval libraries and manuscripts held in Germany and other European countries.

Encyclopedia of medieval philosophy.

FRANTIQ (Fichiers de Recherches de l'Antiquité) offers bibliographical data from 19 major libraries on Prehistory, Antiquity and Middle Ages on line. Comprises ca. 125,000 records. With a searchable index and thesaurus.

Glossarium mediæ et infimæ latinitatis.

Late antique and early medieval inscriptions.

Medieval Family Life is a collection of the family papers of 5 British medieval families from East Anglia, Essex, Oxfordshire, Yorkshire and Warwickshire, c1400-1490. The families are The Pastons, Celys, Stonors, Plumptons and the Armburghs.

Online Egyptological Bibliography is an online version and continuation of the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (1947-2001) and the Bibliographie Altägypten (1822-2002, partial coverage of 2003-2008).

Regnum Francorum Online — interactive maps and sources of early medieval Europe 614-840 offers access to primary source documents via interactive maps for the Merovingian and Carolingian periods

E-Resources Europe

Europe (general and continental)

Early Russian Cinema Online

Encyclopaedia of the Middle Ages Online

Deutsche Geschichte im 20. Jh.: Nationalsozialismus, Holocaust, Widerstand und Exil 1933-1945 Online

Europe

Conrad Gessner's Private Library Online (1516 – 1565) was a Swiss naturalist, bibliographer, physician and classicist.

Digitalia Française is a collection of French language ebooks.

London Low Life: Street Culture, Social Reform and the Victorian Underworld includes full, text and images of books, tracts, ephemera, maps and other materials on 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.

ProQuest - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1880-200) includes full text of numerous magazines, although not always the whole run (Variety back to 1951 not 1905)

Digital Correspondence of Voltaire project

La Femme et l’oiseau aux 18e et 19e siècles dans la littérature, la peinture et la musique

Regesta Imperii (8th - 16th Century) offers full text documents and references to secondary literature (especially good for book chapters and conference papers) on the medieval Europe and the Holy Roman Empire.

ETANOT (Etat des notaires de Paris du XVe siècle à nos jours) and ETAREP (Etat des Repertoires des notaires de Paris du XVIe siècle à nos jours) are two Archives nationales databases. ETANOT is an searchable list of all notaires and their études (offices). ETAREP searches the indices to documents made by notaires which are themselves available at the Archives nationales. Explanation on The French Genealogy Blog

Digitale Sammlungen: Liste digitaler Sammlungen mit deutschsprachigen gemeinfreien Büchern

EROMM: European Register of Microform and Digital Masters searches its own database of records of printed and handwritten material in digital form or on microfilm from institutions worldwide and offers web search for such material.

Zentrales Verzeichnis Digitalisierter Drucke (ZVDD) is the German national portal for digitized scholarly imprints. Searches easily limited by century of publication.

Bayle Corpus: Œuvres complètes

Digital Scriptorium is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts from many American institutions

TEMPO: Early Modern Pamphlets Online (1486-1853) currently includes about 47,000 pamphlets largely in Dutch, German and Latin.

Encyclopedia of Ancient History

The French Book Trade in Enlightenment Europe (1769-1794) tracks the dissemination of over 400,000 copies of almost 4,000 editions of 3,600 works by Swiss publisher-bookseller, the Société typographique de Neuchâtel (STN).

Grand Tour (1550-1850). Sources drawn from various libraries and archives, including the Beinecke Library, the Paul Mellon Centre, the Chaney Library, and the British Library, on British European travel. Includes full-text of John Ingamell's Dictionary of British and Irish travellers in Italy, 1701-1800 (1997). Print version

Grove encyclopedia of medieval art and architecture

Hispana: directorio y recolector de recursos digitales is a central index of over 4 million digital objects from 195 repositories and 326 different projects throughout Spain.

Torrossa.it! (largely 2000- ) offers full text access to over 300,000 articles and chapters, 15,000 ebooks and 650 ejournals from over 160 Italian, Spanish, French and Portuguese publishers. --Includes Biblioteca italiana Zanichelli, a collection of over 600 works of Italian literature, from its origins to the end of the 1930’s.

Van Gogh letters

Verfasser-Datenbank offers updated online versions of the standard reference works Die deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters, Deutscher Humanismus 1480-1520, Frühe Neuzeit in Deutschland 1520-1620 and the Killy-Literaturlexikon.

DARBASE offers a catalogue of Darwin manuscripts plus facsimiles and transcriptions of many.

Mission Centenaire 14-18 includes maps, photos, oral histories, post cards and other documents about the First World War from French archives.

The Recipes Project (Early Modern Recipes Online Collective) is an international group of scholars interested in the history of recipes, ranging from magical charms to veterinary remedies.

Oxford Scholarly Editions Online (1485-1700) provides an interlinked collection of Oxford editions of poetry, prose, and drama. Each title presents the full text of the work, accompanied by textual variations and interpretative and explanatory notes. Currently include sover 240 editions including all of Shakespeare's plays.

e-corpus is a digital library that includes manuscripts, archival documents, books, journals, prints, audio recordings, video, etc. presenting cultural diversity worldwide and especially in the Euro-Mediterranean region drawn from the collections of numerous organizations and countries.

Manumed is a collection of digitized manuscripts from Mediterranean cultures

Eurel website on religion in Europe offers information on the social and legal status of religion in Europe.

British Literary Manuscripts Online II offers manuscripts dating from roughly 1120 to 1660 – preceding and broadening the scope of the first series.  Includes letters, poems, stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings, and other materials.

L'Harmatheque offers ebooks, articles, videos, and audio recordings in the humanities and social sciences from a variety of French publishing imprints.  Contains over 26,000 ebooks, 17,000 articles, 400 films, and 600 audio files. At least 2,300 new titles are added to the collection annually.

Slavic Humanities Index indexes over 180 periodicals in 21 languages. Covers Slavic countries except Russia ; most Periodicals indexed 1994- (sometimes 1980s-).

Continuation of
State Papers Online: Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782. Part 1 includes State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Reigsters of the Privy Council, plus Military, Naval, Plantation Registers, Sheriffs Lists and State Papers Scotland and Ireland.

French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA

Digitalia CatalanDigitalia Hispanica and Digitalia Portuguesa are e-book collections.

Germanistick Online Datenbank (1960- ) is a periodical index for German language and literature.

Nietzsche Online

Romanische Bibliographie Online is a periodical index for Romance language and literature. English subject terms available.

Swiss Law Bibliography (1990- ) indexes books, book chapters, and journal articles discussing Swiss law.

Celtic Studies (CSANA) Bibliography

Classiques Jaunes is a library of e-texts, mainly Francophone Literature, Global Texts, Medieval Literature, and Philosophy.

PUNCH, 1841-2002

British Literary Manuscripts II, Medieval & Renaissance.
--Not as yet listed in HOLLIS or E-Resources.  You can use it by going to any Gale database and opening Change Databases (at the top of the screen).

Corpus Montaigne

Enciclopedia delle donne is a biographical encyclopedia of women, worldwide but with Italian emphasis.

Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1948

InaMédiaPro (1949- ; some reels from early 20th Century) offers news reels, documentaries, radio shows, presidential addresses, etc. by French public media. User guide.

Klapp Online (1991- ) is the online version of the Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft, ed. by Astrid Klapp-Lehrmann. Worldwide coverage of French literary studies. Print version (1956- )
Widener  |  RR 3162.6 Latest
Widener  |  WID-LC    |  Z2171 .B56   Earlier

Stalin Digital Archive

State Papers Online, 18th C. I, 1714-1782: Domestic
Not as yet activated. Expected later this month.

Europe (general and continental)

Early Modern

An Analytic Bibliography of On-line Neo-Latin Texts

CAMENA: Latin Texts of Early Modern Europe is a digital library of the humanistic Respublica LitterarumArchive of European Integration (1951-present) is a repository for European Community/European Union documents and independently-produced material on European integration and unification

Deutsche Biographische Enzyklopädie (DBE) online offers brief biographies with references to other sources including the Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB) / Neue Deutsche Biographie. (NDB) Full citations for abbreviations of other sources given under Further Information. Updating of the printed versionThere is also an English translation in print.

Deutsches Textarchiv (1650-1900) includes texts from numerous subject areas. Description.

First World War: Personal Experiences includes diaries, letters, scrapbooks, photographs and 360° views of personal items and objects. Interactive maps displaying narrative of the war.

Manumed is a collection of digitized manuscripts from Mediterranean cultures

Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape contains manuscripts, correspondence, paintings and drawings of literary, artistic, and political figures

Universal Short Title Catalogue (USTC) is a collective catalog of all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century. Includes a portion of the records in the English Short Title Catalogue. Many of the titles included are available full text in EEBO, Early European Books, HathiTrust and Europeana.. Includes database (EVRECA) that contains words and names (with additional morphological and lexical data) linked to dictionaries/encyclopedias.

Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum includes catalogue of all online Latin texts from beginnings to 18th century Neo-Latinists.

Traditio Classicorum contains a bibliography of secondary literature concerning classical authors to the year 1650.

Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB) / Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB) provides full text: ADB, 56 v., 1875-1912; NDB, 23 v. through Schwarz, E. Last volume (v. 24, 2010) not full text.

Archive of European Integration (AEI), 1951-present, includes independently-produced research materials and official European Community/European Union documents.

Bibliothèque Bibliographique des Littératures Francophones Européennes (BIBLIFRE) provides online access to the print series “Bibliographie des écrivains français,” (Harvard holdings of the print series). Searchable by keyword or subject over the whole series. Covers published editions and manuscripts, together with the secondary literature and translations.

CAIRN (2001- ) is a searchable collection of French-language ejournals for the humanities and social sciences.

Early European Books (EEB) aims at providing digital access to continental printed texts before 1701. Searchable on the bibliographic descriptions. Full text not searchable. More information.

Electronic Enlightenment includes over 53,000 English, French, German and Italian letters and documents associated with over 6000 18th century thinkers.

Great Britain

Archives Unbound: Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945 presents files from the archives of the British-run municipal police force based in Shanghai's former international settlement.

Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640More Information.

British Literary Manuscripts online, c. 1660-1900More Information.

John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera (18th-20th centuries). Collection, housed in the Bodleian Library, Oxford, documents everyday life in Britain. Currently consists of five categories: Nineteenth-Century Entertainment; The Booktrade; Popular prints; Crimes, murders and executions; and Advertising.

Old Bailey Online - Proceedings of the Old Bailey

State Papers Online: 1509-1721 Digital Archive combines State Papers Domestic and Foreign with the Registers of the Privy Council and State Papers in the British Library, reproducing the original historical manuscripts in facsimile and linking each manuscript to its corresponding fully-searchable Calendar entry. 1509-1714. Parts 1-3 available now, Part 4 available in July 2011. Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714

TLS historical archive, 1902-2005.  Times Literary Supplement now full text to 2005.

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, Section II (1947-1980) contains the DO 133, DO 134, FO 371 and FCO 37 files from The National Archives, Kew.

Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest (1950-1975) contains primary sources on popular culture in the US and Great Britain. Topics include: Youth Culture; Student Protests; May ‘68; TV; Music; Movies; Civil Rights; Women’s Liberation; Minority Groups; The Space Race; Consumerism; Credit Cards; Computers; Vietnam War; and Nuclear Disarmament.

Netherlands

Biografisch woordenboek van NederlandPrint edition.

Digitale Bibliografie Nederlandse Geschiedenis (largely 1940s- ) includes citations of books and book chapters as well as periodical articles

Early Dutch Books Online (1781-1800) contains 10,000 books from the Dutch-speaking region.

Historici.nl (-2000) contains full text of numerous secondary and primary books and periodicals in Dutch history