French Legislative Documents

Debates and documents (sometimes called Impressions) were published in the Moniteur Universel and the Journal officiel. Beginning in 1814, they were also published in series often called Annales which were revised versions with their own indexes.

Major Series and  Abbreviations:

Archives parlementaires de 1787 à 1860  
Ser I 1787-1799 (Full text online through Jan. 1794)                                                                                               AP-I
Ser II 1800-1860 (Full text online through 17 July 1839; Publication stopped  at 1839; never completed to 1860)          AP-II

Fr 1325.160 (Widener)   (AP-I)  1787-1799
HathiTrust (API, APII)
Google Books (API, APII)
Fr Doc 25.6.2  (at HD) (AP-II1803-1839

AP-I indexes: v.1-7 (1787-1789)  in v. 7; v. 8-32 (1789-1791) in v. 33; v. 34-50 (1791-1792) in v. 51; v. 52-70 (1792-1793) in v. 71; v. 72-82 (1793-Jan. 4 1794) in v. 82.
AP-II indexes: v. 1-13 (1800-1815) in v. 14; v. 15--61 (1815-1830) in v. 62.

The Archives parlementaires is a compendium of debates and documents from various sources, including newspapers, intended to give a full picture of parliamentary activity.

Annales du parlement français, ed. by M. Fleury. Paris, F. Didot frères, 10 v. 1839-1849.                        APF
Covers 1839-1849
Gallica (1843-1848)
HathiTrust 1839-1849

Le Moniteur Universel. Réimpression de l'ancien Moniteur: depuis la réunion des
États-généraux jusqu'au Consulat (mai 1789-novembre 1799)...
. 1840-1845. 32 v.                                    MU
Widener  |  Harvard Depository   |  Fr 1325.39
Making of the Modern World
Google Books
Widener  |  Fr 1325.38 and Fr 1325.39

Le Moniteur universal (title varies), 1789-1870
Law School HD (1799-1869)

Journal officiel de l'Empire français, 1869 (1 Jan.) – 1870 (4 Sept.)
Gallica

Journal officiel de la République française, 1870-1941.
Law School Harvard Depository Microfilm
Gallica 1870-1880

1799-1804    Revolution/First Republic/Directory/Consulate

Chambre/Senat                  Debates        Fr 1325.160 (Widener)   (AP-I)  1787-1799
                                                                HathiTrust (AP-I)
                                                                 Google Books (AP-I)
                                                                
Widener | Fr 1325.39 (MU)
                                                                 Widener | Fr 1325.38 (MU)
                                                                 Making of the Modern World (1850-1854 ed.) (MU)
                                                                  
HathiTrust  (v.1-32; v. 24 not full text) (MU)
                                                                  Google Books (scattered vols, includes v. 24)

1804-1814   First Empire

Chambre/Senat                  Debates             Fr Doc 25.6.2  (at HD) (AP-II1803-1839
                                                                  Google Books
                                                                  HathiTrust (AP-II)

Note:  During some of these years France used a “Republican” calendar and not the Gregorian; a concordance can be found at the beginning of most of the volumes).

1814-1848   Restoration  (Louis XVIII, Charles X, Louis-Philippe)

                                                                               HathiTrust (1839-1848)  APF

Chambre des deputes                  Debates             Fr Doc 25.6.2  (at HD) AP-I1800-1839
                                                                         
Fr Doc 25.19  (at HD) 1815; 1831-1847
                                                                           Google Books  1815; 1831-1847
                                                                           HathiTrust (AP-II) 1800-1839

Chambre des pairs                       Debates             Fr Doc 25.6.2  (at HD) AP-I1800-1839
                                                                            Google Books AP-II
                                                                             HathiTrust (AP-II)
                                                                             HathiTrust 1843-1844, 1848

                                                                             Fr Doc 25.11  (at HD)  1815, 1842-44, 1846

                                                     Documents        Fr Doc 25.12  (at HD)  1842-44, 1846

1848-1849   Provisional                                                            

   Assemblee nationale                                                Debates             Fr Doc 25.19.20 1848:  
          Constituante                                                                                       Index Fr Doc 25.19.22
                                                                                                                HathiTrust (1839-1849)  APF  
                                                                                                                HathiTrust (1848-1851)

1849-1851   Second Republic

Assemblee nationale                                                 Debates              HathiTrust 5/1849-12/1851
        Legislative                                                          Index:                 Fr Doc 25.19.2                                                                                                           

1852-1870    Second Empire

Assemblee (Corps législatif)                                        Debates                HathiTrust 1861-1870
                                                                                                
                Law Sch. at HD 1829-1868 (Moniteur Universel)

Senat                                    .                                   Debates                Fr Doc 25.27 1865-1870 inc
                                                                                                             HathiTrust Version 1861-1870
                                                                                                             Google Books 1865-1870 inc
                                                                                                            
Law Sch. at HD 1829-1871 (Moniteur Universel)

                                                                                   Documents          Fr Doc 25.27.20 1851-59, 1865
                                                                                    Index:                 Fr Doc 25.27.5 1852-1859

1871-1876   Provisional

Assemblee nationale                                                  Debates            Fr Doc 25.30.10  (at HD) 1871-1876
                                                                                 Index:               Fr Doc 25.30.15
                                                                                                         HathiTrust 1871-1876

                                                                                 Documents       included with debates

Senat                                                                          Debates            Fr Doc 14.40 1871-1942
                                                                                                          HathiTrust 1871-1876

1876-1942  Third Republic

Chambre/Senat                                            Debates            Fr Doc 12.30 1876-1880
(Debates published together 1876-1880;)                                Google Books 1876-1880

(Documents published together 1876-1883)    Documents        Fr Doc 25.30.25 (at HD) 1881-1883

Chambre des deputes                                   Debates            Fr Doc 16.26 1881-1909
                                                                                          
Fr Doc 16.25 1895-1940
                                                                                           Gallica 1881-1940, 1948

                                                                   Documents       Fr Doc 25.30.55 (at HD) 1883-1909
                                                                                           
Fr Doc 25.46 1887-1938 (inc.) 

Senat                                                        Debates                Gallica  (1881-1940)
                                                                                           
Fr Doc 14.30 (HD) 1881-1937
                                                                                            Fr Doc 14.40 (at HD) 1912-1940
                                                                                            Film SC 238  (at HD) 3/1940-4/1940
                                                                                            HathiTrust 1882-1905
                                                                                            HathiTrust 1895-1908

                                                                 Documents            Fr Doc 25.30.40 (at HD) 1883-1937
                                                                                              Fr Doc 25.45  (at HD) 1887-1938
                                                                                              HathiTrust 1895-1908 inc
                                                                                               HathiTrust 1883-1918 inc (Annexes)

Provisional   1943-1946

Assemblee consultative                         Debates                   Film S 26  11/1943-7/1944
    Provisoire                                                                         Fr Doc 16.40  11/1944-10/1945

                                                             Documents (Lois)     Law Sch. KJV17 .F73 1943  6/1943-8/1944
                                                                                            Fr Doc 16.46 11/1944-8/1945

Assemblee nationale                           Debates                    Fr Doc 16.48  11/1945-4/1946
    Constituante                         
                                                          Documents               Fr Doc 16.48.5 11/1945-4/1946 

Assemblee nationale                             Debates                    Fr Doc 16.48  6/1946-12/1946

                                                          Documents                Fr Doc 16.48.10   6/1946-10/1946
                                                        Annexe no. II

Fourth Republic  1946-1958

Assemblee nationale                                     Debates                    Fr Doc 16.49 1947-1970
                                                                                                    ​Assemblée nationale website (1945-1958)

                                                                    Documents                Fr Doc 12.50  1946-1957

Conseil de la Republique                                Debates                    Fr Doc 12.40  1947-1958

                                                                   Documents                Fr Doc 12.50 1946-1957
                                                                                                    Fr Doc 16.55  1946-1970
                                                                                                    Fr Doc 16.57 Some at HD 1970-

Union francaise                                                 Debates                    Fr Doc 25.170 1947-1958

                                                                      Documents               Fr Doc 25.170.5  1947-1958
                                                                                                      Fr Doc 25.170.10  1955-1958

Note:  Through 1949 the Annales de l’assemblee nationale includes Compte-rendu Integral (Verbatim Report), and Questions ecrites et reponses des ministres (Written Questions and Ministerial Replies).  In March of 1950 these were replaced by the Debats de l’assemblee nationale.

Fifth Republique  1958-

                                                                                                    JO électronique authentifié 1990
                                                                                                    Assemblée nationale 1993-

Assemblee nationale                                   Debates                    Fr Doc 16.49 1947-1970 
                                                                        Index:                    Fr Doc  2.250 1958-1962
                                                                                                      Assemblée nationale website (1958- )

                                                                   Documents               Fr Doc 16.55 1946-1970
                                                                                                    
Fr Doc 16.57  Some at HD 1970-
                                                                                                    
Film S 3094 1975-1988
                                                                                                    Film S 3785 1981-1985

Senat                                                      Debates                    Fr Doc 16.49.5  1970-1996??                                                                                                                                 Index: end of each year
                                                                                              Film S 3088    6/1973-11/1973
                                                                                              Film S 3802 1981-1986
Debates                                                                                  Fr Doc 14.40 (at HD)  1958-1961
                                                                                                     Index: (Sub-B) 1958-59, 1961
                                                                                               Fr Doc 14.42 1962-   Index: end of each year

                                                                   Documents               Film S 3094  1975-1988
                                                                                                  Film S 3803 (at HD)  1981-1986 (Questions ecrites)
                                                                                                  Fr Doc 14.50 1958-1999, 1999-2012 (HD)
                                                                                                  Film S 3095  1977/78-??  (Impressions)

Indexes for 1913-1953 (inc.) are bound separately in Journal Officiel de la Republique Francaise: Tables under Fr Doc 5.2 F; indexes for 1871-1965 are under Film S 1154. For years prior to 1913 and after 1953, the Tables du Journal Officiel were separated and bound with the various part of the Journal Officiel to which they referred.

Microfilm of most series are available on Inter-Library Loan from the Center for Research Libraries.

Note:  “Documents” in general include legislative proposals, draft bills, committee reports, and recommendations.